Wildernessking(s of Cape Town)

Leave a comment

February 18, 2013 by Beldrac

Wildernessking logo

This is not a full-blown review and I’m not sure if I’ll end up writing one, but I’ve been enjoying the debut – “The Writing of Gods in the Sand” – since purchasing it this weekend. They’re the first SA band I’ve really liked in some time and I think a quick introduction is in order.

But first, here’s a music video:

Like the title of the post suggests, Wildernessking hail from Cape Town and over the last couple of years, has made big strides to become one of the most talked-about bands in the Mother City. The Metal scene here is very vibrant with new bands appearing regularly, but to my experience most lack ideas to set them apart from the international influences they so clearly aspire to emulate. These guys have that something extra that’s caught my attention.

There is a movement in Black Metal, I don’t know what I would call it, that has brought in influences of Progressive and Post-Metal into the genre while relying heavily on atmosphere to bring it all together. In itself, this sub-genre is pretty broad and includes bands like Alcest, Sólstafir, Agalloch, Negură Bunget, Drudkh, and I’d even thrown in modern-day Enslaved. They all have this in common: Black Metal smeared with atmosphere that weigh heavily on somewhat smothered melodies, with some “shoe-gazing” Post-Metal properties and a Progressive mindset.

So, let’s just call it Post-Black Metal. That works for me.

Wildernessking is currently working on a split album with French Post/Progressive Black Metal band, The Great Old Ones – a move which can only increase their exposure and stature on the international BM stage. Personally, I’m rather looking forward to this, because I also really enjoyed their debut, “Al Azif.”

There’s enough info on the quartet out there on the Internet and I’m not going to regurgitate it all. To end, here’s a song from their latest EP “…And the Night Swept Us Away.” This showcases an almost ambient side to their music, painting soft soundscapes to relax an excitable mind. You can listen to the whole album on the Bandcamp page.

Leave a Reply

